List of Governors of Montana

Governors of Montana

Last Updated on April 23, 2022 by Team FinderWheel

Are you looking for the Governors of Montana? Here is the list of all the Governors of Montana from beginning to present with their tenure and respective political party name.

Montana Governors List

Here is a list of governors of the US state of Governors of Montana by Party Name and Tenure Periods.

Sr. No. Governor Name
Term Start Term End Party
1 Joseph Toole 8 November 1889 1 January 1893 Dem
2 John E. Rickards 2 January 1893 3 January 1897 Rep
3 Robert Burns Smith 4 January 1897 07-Jan-01 Dem
4 Joseph Toole 07-Jan-01 01-Apr-08 Dem
5 Edwin L. Norris 01-Apr-08 05-Jan-13 Dem
6 Sam V. Stewart 06-Jan-13 02-Jan-21 Dem
7 Joseph M. Dixon 03-Jan-21 04-Jan-25 Rep
8 John E. Erickson 04-Jan-25 13-Mar-33 Dem
9 Frank Henry Cooney 13-Mar-33 15-Dec-35 Dem
10 Elmer Holt 15-Dec-35 04-Jan-37 Dem
11 Roy E. Ayers 04-Jan-37 06-Jan-41 Dem
12 Sam C. Ford 06-Jan-41 03-Jan-49 Rep
13 John W. Bonner 03-Jan-49 05-Jan-53 Dem
14 J. Hugo Aronson 05-Jan-53 02-Jan-61 Rep
15 Donald Grant Nutter 02-Jan-61 25-Jan-62 Rep
16 Tim M. Babcock 25-Jan-62 06-Jan-69 Rep
17 Forrest H. Anderson 06-Jan-69 01-Jan-73 Dem
18 Thomas Lee Judge 01-Jan-73 05-Jan-81 Dem
19 Ted Schwinden 05-Jan-81 02-Jan-89 Dem
20 Stan Stephens 02-Jan-89 04-Jan-93 Rep
21 Marc Racicot 04-Jan-93 01-Jan-01 Rep
22 Judy Martz 01-Jan-01 03-Jan-05 Rep
23 Brian Schweitzer 03-Jan-05 07-Jan-13 Dem
24 Steve Bullock 07-Jan-13 04-Jan-21 Dem
25 Gregory Richard Gianforte 04-Jan-21 Incumbent Republican

We hope you have found the Governors of Montana governor’s list with our list of governor names in the United States of America.

US States Governors List

Here’s the state-wise list of Governors in the USA